THE TOP performers in the county will be celebrated as The Argus hosts its first ever Youth in Action Education Awards.

The inaugural awards ceremony takes place on Sunday afternoon at the home of Brighton and Hove Albion – the American Express Community Stadium.

The 51 nominees were shortlisted in their individual categories from scores of submissions.

Group editor of The Argus Michael Beard, pictured, said: “It’s important that people in the education sector are recognised for the outstanding work they do.

“These awards are about celebrating the whole school community because there are so many people who make the learning environment so special.

“This is the first ever Youth in Action Education Awards – so we want to start with a bang and watch it grow and get bigger and bigger.

“I’d just like to say good luck to all of those nominated and we hope you enjoy the day.”

There are 17 categories, each with three shortlisted nominees.

The MC, speaker and business consultant Sarah Hopwood, said: “I got involved with the awards because I’m an ex-teacher, and I am also absolutely passionate about education because my education was not what it could have been.

“So if I can help students in some way to have a better start then I’m very keen to get involved.

“The category that really spoke to me was the Against All Odds award, because I’ve got a taste of what that’s like.

“Nothing compared to other people but it’s something I’m keen to support.

“The reason I wanted to sponsor that award is associated with the fact that I’m a Christian, so I feel for every person I interview.

“I think I have understanding and hopefully I’ll be able to help everyone I meet through this journey of sponsoring the award.”


Outstanding Contribution to Education in Sussex STAR Award: Rachel Congreve, Steve Williams and Richard Boyle.

School of the Year: Patcham High, St Mary’s, Horam, West Blatchington Primary.

Sports Person of the Year: Matthew Smith, Abbi-Louise Rocky and Stephen Ferroni.

Academic Achievement of the Year: Ellie Warner, Ellie Cox and Jessica Hall.

Teacher of the Year: Lindsey McGill, Sue James and Stuart Townsend.

Pupil of the Year: Leila Tasher, Anthony Booth and Alicia Jones.

Teaching Assistant of the Year: Louise Plumstead, Chris Hurcomb and Lisa Beresford.

Non-teaching Member of Staff of the Year: Di Bonner, Elaine Soudain and Sharon Holt.

Community School of the Year: Patcham High, BACA (Brighton Aldridge Community Academy) and St Wilfrid’s.

Charity Achievement of the Year: Jasmine Pearce, Brighton College and Cardinal Newman.

Dinnerlady/man of the Year: Niki Bunce, Daphne Jackson and Alyson Evans.

Excursion of the Year: Dorothy Stringer, Cardinal Newman and Worthing High and Angmering.

Most Improved School of the Year: BACA (Brighton Aldridge Community Academy), West Blatchington Primary and Meeching Valley.

STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Best Teacher of the Year: Naomi Smith, Qasim Haque and Chris De Britt.

Musical Achievement of the Year: Lili Sitzia, Carl Parsons and Emily Carey.

Headteacher of the Year: James Fox, Dylan Davies and Peter Newbold.

Against All Odds Awards: Sam Hickman, Renzzo De Souza and Jessie Cooper.