THE GREEN Party has clinched an historic victory in Lewes.

Green members will take up post on Lewes District Council for the first time since the council was formed. 

Not one but three representatives were picked in the Lewes Bridge, Lewes Castle and Lewes Priory wards.

Susan Murray, Tony Rowell and Joanna Carter have all been elected.

The news signifies a loss in the number of Liberal Democrat councillors and overall the council will continue to be Conservative controlled.

The local election votes were cast on Thursday but stored securely until they were counted today in Seaford and Lewes alongside town and parish results.

The council now has 24 Conservatives, 11 Liberal Democrats, three Greens, two independents and one UKIP.

For the full story, interviews, reaction and analysis – for this count and all others in Sussex - see Monday’s Argus.