ELEVEN new deacons have been ordained by the Bishop of Chichester, Martin Warner.

Family, friends and parish supporters supported the new deacons who will now go on to serve in parishes across Sussex.

They are: Ian Edgar (West Tarring and Worthing); Jon Haines (All Saints, Eastbourne); Tim Hiorns (All Saints, Crowborough); Jez Lowries (St Leonards, Denton, with South Heighton and Tarring Neville); Danny Pegg (Stone Cross with North Langney); Angus Reid (All Saints, Hove); Simon Shorey (The Point Church, Burgess Hill); Ben Sleep (St John’s Meads, Eastbourne); Lucy Sullivan (Rottingdean); Rebecca Tuck (St Mary the Virgin, in the Horsham Team Ministry); Martin Walker (St John the Baptist, Crawley).

The bishop, whose residence is The Palace, Chichester, became a member of the House of Lords this year.