Rebel Conservative MP for Crawley Henry Smith voted against the Government in Tuesday night's crucial Brexit vote as Prime Minister Theresa May suffered another crushing defeat in the House of Commons.

However, Work and Pensions Secretary Amber Rudd, the MP for Hastings and Rye voted with the Government as did fellow Sussex Tory MP Maria Caulfield, the MP for Lewes.

As expected, both of Brighton's Labour MPs, Peter Kyle, the MP for Hove and Portslade and Lloyd Russell-Moyle, MP for Kemptown and Peacehaven voted against the deal as did England's only Green MP Caroline Lucas, who represents Brighton Pavilion.

Mrs May's hopes of winning the crucial vote were shattered as her latest deal was defeated by 149 votes.

The Prime Minister will return to Parliament on Wednesday having seen her deal spurned and will ask MPs whether they want to approve the UK leaving the EU without a withdrawal agreement, known as a no deal Brexit.

All Tory MPs will be given a free vote.

If MPs reject a no deal Brexit, she will then ask whether they want her to seek a limited extension to the Article 50 negotiating period which currently needs to be resolved by March 29. A vote on this would held on Thursday.

An additional issue is the EU warned that if the UK's exit is delayed beyond the European Union Parliament elections to be held between May 23 and 26, Britain would have to elect MEPs to serve in Brussels and Strasbourg.