A SUSSEX MP has been chopped after voting against the government's Brexit plan.

Sir Nicholas Soames, MP for Mid Sussex, was among 21 Conservative rebels who voted against the Prime Minister last night.

Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson suffered defeat in his first Parliamentary vote.

Now he looks set to call a third general election in four years.

The Prime Minister wants to keep no deal on the table and says it strengthens his hand in talks with the European Union.

This morning, Mr Johnson wielded the axe, and sacked rebel Tories from the party, including Sir Nicholas Soames, and frontline politicians such as former Chancellor Philip Hammond and leadership hopeful Rory Stewart.

Sir Nicholas said last night: "I will be voting against the Govt tonight with a very heavy heart.

"I don't doubt Boris wants to get a deal, but I do not believe he has the means to will the end.

"His demands are unreal and I cannot condone No Deal".

Sir Nicholas was the only Sussex Conservative to rebel, while MPs such as Henry Smith, Nus Ghani, Maria Caulfield and Tim Loughton voted with the government.

Labour MPs Lloyd Russell-Moyle and Peter Kyle voted against the government, along with Green Party MP Caroline Lucas.

Eastbourne Liberal Democract Stephen Lloyd also voted against the government.