FOUR new Conservative MPs now represent constituencies in Sussex.

Mims Davies said she was “incredibly honoured” to be voted in as the new MP for Mid Sussex, having won by more than 18,000 votes.

The new Tory MP replaces the grandson of wartime leader Sir Winston Churchill in the seat, Sir Nicholas Soames.

Sir Nicholas was kicked out of the party by Prime Minister Boris Johnson over his opposition to a no-deal Brexit, and was invited back into the fold but decided to stand down.

Ms Davies, who lives in Haywards Heath, previously represented Eastleigh in Hampshire, but resigned from the seat in November citing personal reasons, before announcing she would run in Mid Sussex instead.

The Conservatives also held on to the Hastings and Rye seat, with Sally-Ann Hart replacing Amber Rudd as their MP.

Mr Rudd resigned from the cabinet and surrendered the Tory whip over Brexit earlier this year.

The Tory party has increased their majority in the town by 4,043 votes, as Ms Hart saw off Labour candidate Peter Chowney.

Ms Hart caused controversy during the campaign after her comments stating that disabled people “do not understand money”.

The Tory party is investigating the new Hastings and Rye MP for alleged anti-Semitism and Islamophobia.

The Argus:

Arundel and South Downs also has a new Conservative MP, as Andrew Griffith gained 35,566 votes and replaces Nick Herbert in the seat.

Mr Griffith beat the Liberal Democrat candidate Alison Bennett by more than 22,000 votes.

The Argus:

In a seat which has seen a rivalry between the two parties since 2010, the Conservatives have taken Eastbourne from the Liberal Democrats.

Caroline Ansell, who represented the constituency between 2015 and 2017, gained 48.9 per cent of the votes in the town, compared with the Liberal Democrats, who received 41 per cent of the vote.

The Argus: Caroline Ansell. Caroline Ansell.

She won the seat from Liberal Democrat Stephen Lloyd in 2015, before he returned in 2017.

He quit the party’s group in Parliament last December so that he could vote for Theresa May’s Brexit deal.

But he returned to the party to represent them at the General Election.