A list of 73 countries and territories where English holidaymakers can visit without self-isolating on their return has been published by the UK Government.

It features popular short-haul destinations such as Spain, France, Italy, Turkey, Greece and Cyprus, as well as long-haul locations including Australia, Barbados, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand and Vietnam.

Fourteen British Overseas Territories are also included.

Portugal, the US, China and Thailand are among the notable absentees.

Approved destinations pose "a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens" but the list will be kept "under constant review", the Department for Transport said.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office will exempt the approved countries from its advisory against all non-essential travel from Saturday, while the quarantine policy will be amended from July 10.

That means people who depart on Saturday and spend at least six days in one of the listed locations will not need to self-isolate on their return.

Here is the list:

Andorra, Germany, New Zealand

Antigua and Barbuda, Greece, Norway

Aruba, Greenland, Poland

Australia, Grenada, Réunion

Austria, Guadeloupe, San Marino

Bahamas, Hong Kong, Serbia

Barbados, Hungary, Seychelles

Belgium, Iceland, South Korea

Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Italy, Spain

Croatia, Jamaica, St Barthélemy

Curaçao, Japan, St Kitts and Nevis

Cyprus, Liechtenstein, St Lucia

Czech Republic, Lithuania, St Pierre and Miquelon

Denmark, Luxembourg, Switzerland

Dominica, Macau, Taiwan

Faroe Islands, Malta, Trinidad and Tobago

Fiji, Mauritius, Turkey

Finland, Monaco, Vatican City

France, Netherlands, Vietnam,

French Polynesia, New Caledonia