A GOVERNMENT website has been launched to show people whether or not their area will be subject to additional coronavirus lockdown rules when the new three-tier alert system is launched tomorrow.

The system will split the nation into three levels of alert - medium risk, high risk and very high risk - depending on each region's infection rate.

The more severe the alert issued, the more lockdown measures will be put in place to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

Scroll down for a full list of medium, high and very high risk areas.

The Argus:

Most areas will be placed in tier one, the medium risk category, with lockdown restrictions remaining the same.

This will see the continuation of the rule of six and the 10pm curfew on hopsitality venues such as pubs and bars.

Those areas placed in tier two, high risk, will be subject to increased lockdown restrictions.

People in these regions will not be allowed to visit other households in both public and private indoor spaces.

The rule of six will continue to apply in outdoor spaces, including public gardens.

The Argus:

Most of the high risk areas have previously been affected by local lockdown measures.

Areas placed into tier three, very high risk, will be subject to the most stringent restrictions.

These will be implemented in areas where "transmission rates are causing the greatest concern, based on an assessment of all the available data and the local situation," the government said.

"This includes incidence and test positivity, including amongst older and more at-risk age groups, as well as the growth rate, hospital admissions and other factors."

The Argus:

In high risk areas, people will not be able to mix with other households indoors or in private gardens.

The rule of six is allowed in public spaces such as parks and beaches.

"Pubs and bars must close, and can only remain open where they operate as if they were a restaurant - which means serving substantial meals, like a main lunchtime or evening meal," the government said.

"They may only serve alcohol as part of such a meal."

People will also be advised not to travel in or out of these areas.

Non-essential retail, schools and universities will remain open in all levels.

These are the alert levels issued in all areas of England

Tier one, medium risk:

  • All areas other than those listed below. This includes all areas of Sussex.

Tier two, high risk:


  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

  • Manchester
  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan
  • Salford
  • Rochdale
  • Oldham


  • Warrington

Derbyshire (High Peak - the wards of):

  • Tintwistle 
  • Padfield
  • Dinting
  • St John's
  • Old Glossop
  • Whitfield
  • Simmondley
  • Gamesley
  • Hopward Town
  • Hadfield South
  • Hadfield North


  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn and Darwen
  • Burnley
  • Chorley
  • Fylde
  • Hyndburn
  • Lancaster
  • Pendle
  • Preston
  • Ribble Valley
  • Rossendale
  • South Ribble
  • West Lancashire
  • Wyre

West Yorkshire

  • Leeds 
  • Bradford 
  • Kirklees
  • Calderdale
  • Wakefield

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Rotherham
  • Doncaster
  • Sheffield

North East

  • Newcastle
  • South Tyneside
  • North Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Sunderland
  • Durham

Tees Valley

  • Northumberland
  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool

West Midlands

  • Birmingham
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Wolverhampton
  • Walsall


  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston


  • Nottinghamshire
  • Nottingham City

Tier three, very high risk:

  • Liverpool
  • Knowlsey
  • Wirral
  • St Helens
  • Sefton
  • Halton

Full information can be seen on the Gov.uk website HERE