THE LAST-GASP Brexit deal was overwhelmingly backed by the Sussex MPs.

Only two of the county’s MPs did not vote in favour of the new trade deal with the EU, which is set to come into force on January 1.

The Conservatives, who represent 13 out of 16 constituencies in Sussex all backed the deal secured by Prime Minister Boris Johnson on Christmas Eve.

Boris has said that the UK is now “having its cake and eating it”.

Green Party MP for Brighton Pavilion Caroline Lucas was the only Sussex MP to oppose the deal.

Earlier she launched a last-ditch attempt to oppose the deal, and said the agreement breaks promises made to voters at the last general election.

But her amendment was rejected as MPs voted by 521 to 73 in favour of Boris’ deal.

Labour MP for Brighton Kemptown and Peacehaven Lloyd Russell Moyle abstained in the vote.

He said: "I didn’t vote against it but I will not give it a lap of victory whilst it passes. I therefore abstained."

Tory MPs including Henry Smith in Crawley, Nus Ghani in Wealden, and Mims Davies for Mid Sussex all voted with the majority.

Also among those voting with the majority was Labour’s Hove and Portslade MP Peter Kyle, who had previously been seen as a strong critic of Brexit and a prominent voice in the campaign for Britain to remain members of the European Union.

He voted in favour of the deal reached by Boris Johnson, after Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer said that with only one day to go before a “no deal” scenario, it was better to accept the agreement reached.

Mr Kyle previously stated that he had three tests for supporting a vote in favour of any government deal.

On his website he wrote: “I have set out three tests for the Government to pass if they want my support, which look to ensure continued funding for the city’s two universities outside of the EU, maintain access to a visa-free Europe to support our tourist industry, and remain a member of the Single Market so Brighton and Hove’s large and small businesses can be connected to the European market.

“If these conditions aren’t met, then I can’t support it.”

But on Twitter he faced some criticism for his position and said: “I’m so sorry to be disappointing you today, I really could not look residents in the eye if I tried to block this deal from passing.

“Today was not a fight about a pro-European and internationalists position, that starts afresh now we’re able to move forward.”

MPs who voted in favour of the deal:

  • Andrew Griffith - Conservative MP for Arundel and South Downs
  • Peter Kyle - Labour MP for Hove and Portslade
  • Gillian Keegan - Conservative MP for Chichester
  • Henry Smith - Conservative MP for Crawley
  • Nick Gibb - Conservative MP for Bognor Regis and Littlehampton
  • Jeremy Quin - Conservative MP for Horsham
  • Mims Davies - Conservative MP for Mid Sussex
  • Peter Bottomly - Conservative MP for Worthing West
  • Tim Loughton - Conservative MP for Worthing East and Shoreham
  • Huw Merriman - Conservative MP for Bexhill and Battle
  • Caroline Ansell - Conservative MP for Eastbourne
  • Sally-Ann Hart - Conservative MP for Hastings and Rye
  • Maria Caulfield - Conservative MP for Lewes
  • Nus Ghani - Conservative MP for Wealden

Politicians who opposed the deal:

  • Caroline Lucas - Green Party MP for Brighton Pavilion

Politicians who abstained:

  • Lloyd Russell-Moyle - Labour MP for Brighton Kemptown and Peacehaven