INDIA has been added to the government's 'red list' bringing the number of prohibited countries to 40.

There are now 40 country's on the government's 'red list' meaning travellers to the UK are subject to a number of restrictions to protect the country from coronavirus variants. 

India is the latest country to be added to the list amid growing concern surrounding a new variant and the high number of cases in the country.

READ MORE: Holidays to start in May: The COVID rules you need to know

READ MORE: COVID: What is the South African coronavirus variant?

What determines which countries are added?

A range of factors are assessed, including evidence of new variants being exported to the UK or other countries, and a country’s access to reliable scientific data and genomic sequencing.

Who is on the list?

India brings the number of countries on the list to 40.

If you have been in or through any of the countries listed below in the previous 10 days, you will be refused entry to the UK.

If you are a British or Irish National, or you have residence rights in the UK, you will be able to enter but you must quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India (will be added to the list 4am, Friday 23 April)
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

What impact does being on the list have on travel?

People who have been in a “red list” country in the previous 10 days are not allowed to enter the UK, unless they are a UK or Irish national or have residence rights in the UK.

What about quarantine hotels?

People who are allowed to enter the UK from a “red list” country must quarantine in a Government-approved hotel for at least 10 days at a cost of £1,750 for solo travellers.

Are there any exemptions?

Some people are exempt because of the work they are doing, such as aircraft pilots and crew, civil servants or Government contractors and defence personnel in certain circumstances.

Are direct flights banned from “red list” countries?

That was initially the case, but when the Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya, and Bangladesh were added to the list earlier this month the Department for Transport said it was not implementing a ban on flights from those countries.