BIG changes are expected to two of the city’s parliamentary constituencies after plans to redraw boundaries across the UK are revealed.

Under the proposals, unveiled today by the Boundary Commission, the ward of Hanover and Elm Grove will no longer be part of Brighton Pavilion.

Instead, it will become part of the Brighton Kemptown parliamentary constituency.

The Argus: Boundary Commission changes to Brighton PavilionBoundary Commission changes to Brighton Pavilion

The Boundary Commission has proposed that Brighton Pavilion, which is currently the seat of Green Party MP Caroline Lucas, would be made up of Hollingdean and Stanmer, Patcham, Preston Park, Regency, St Peter’s and North Laine and Withdean.

Brighton Kemptown, the seat of Labour MP Lloyd Russell Moyle would see Hanover and Elm added to it’s pre-existing wards, which include: East Brighton, East Saltdean and Telscombe Cliffs, Moulsecoomb and Bevendean, Peacehaven East, Peacehaven North, East and West, Queen’s Park, Rottingdean Coastal and Woodingdean.

Public opinion is being sought on the proposals as part of an eight-week consultation process.

The Argus: Boundary Commission changes to Brighton Kemptown constituency Boundary Commission changes to Brighton Kemptown constituency

The suggestions have been put forward by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE), an advisory, non-departmental government body which is sponsored by the Cabinet Office.

The BCE says the aim of the shake-up is to ensure the number of electors in each constituency is more equal. The number of constituencies will rise from 533 to 543.

Tim Bowden, secretary to the BCE, said: "Each constituency we recommend is required by law to contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors, meaning there will be significant change to current boundaries."

Final recommendations will be presented to Parliament by July 2023.

People can visit to give their opinions.