SUSSEX is set to gain an MP under proposals for a shake-up of England’s electoral map.

The Boundary Commission has today published proposals which it says will make Parliament fairer and even out the number of voters for each constituency.

This does mean redrawing and renaming some seats – and in Sussex some big changes have been revealed.

Sussex will now return a total of 17 MPs to Parliament, as opposed to the 16 MP’s which currently represent constituencies in East and West Sussex.

The Argus: Boundary Commission's changes to the Shoreham constituency Boundary Commission's changes to the Shoreham constituency

The constituencies of Worthing West and East Worthing and Shoreham will be separated to become Worthing and Shoreham.

Shoreham will extend further north to include villages in the South Downs including Pulborough, Steyning and Storrington.

The constituency of Lewes, the seat of Maria Caulfield MP, will lose some of its northern villages including Ditching and Plumpton, but it will be Willingdon.

Eastbourne will include just the town itself, with its surrounding villages outside the borough forming other constitutes.

The Argus: Boundary Commission changes for the Mid Sussex constituencyBoundary Commission changes for the Mid Sussex constituency

Bexhill and Battle will shift slightly eastwards, gaining villages like Sedlescombe, Brede and Udimore, near Rye, which are currently part of Hastings and Rye.

But under the changes, the constituency needs to become smaller to ensure the number of electors in each constituency is more equal.

The constituency of Wealdean, the seat of Conservative MP Nus Ghani is set to become non-existence and its districts will become part of new constituencies.

What remains will become known as Hailsham and Crowborough.

East Grinstead, which is currently part of the Mid Sussex constituency and Uckfield, part of Wealdean, will form a new constituency called East Grinstead and Uckfield.

The new constituency has been created as Mid Sussex and Wealdean are too large for the new plans.

Although Mid Sussex has been made smaller, it will keep Haywards Heath and Burgess Hill.

Bognor Regis will become a constituency by itself, without Littlehampton, but with Selsey.

This is because there is a new Arundel and Littlehampton constituency.

Chichester will remain a constituency, with slightly different boundaries and will gain the town of Petworth.

Crawley, the seat of Henry Smith MP, will remain the same.

The proposal is aimed at ensuring constituencies are more equally balanced in terms of voter numbers.

Of the 533 existing English constituencies, fewer than 10 per cent will remain unchanged under the proposals.

The commission stressed the proposals, which open for an initial eight-week public consultation period, were provisional.