A COUNCILLOR from Brighton and Hove has won a top national award.

Amy Heley, Phelim Mac Cafferty and Bridget Fishleigh were all nominated at this year's 2021 Cllr Awards.

The awards aim to celebrates “the vital work of individual councillors across England and Wales who make a difference in our communities”.

Brighton and Hove City Council councillor Amy Heley has won the Young Councillor of the Year award.

The judges said Cllr Heley was presented the award for the impact she has made since being elected in 2019, particularly on environment and travel issues.

The Argus: Brighton and Hove City Council councillor Amy Heley Brighton and Hove City Council councillor Amy Heley

They said she has been “instrumental” in changes to travel infrastructure, such as cycle lanes, a school streets project and the redesign of Madeira Drive.

Her championing of disabled access to active travel options was also praised by the judges.

The award ceremony took place at Camden Council in London on Wednesday night.

The annual Cllr Awards was celebrating its 12th year.

Prior to this year’s awards night, there were more than 400 nominations.

The winners were selected by a group of judges that included senior councillors and leading stakeholders from across the sector.

LGIU chief executive Jonathan Carr-West said: “These councillors showcase the best of local government across England and Wales.

“During a time when our communities have experienced unprecedented challenges and pressures, these councillors are paving the way towards recovery.

“I would like to extend a huge congratulations to Cllr Heley and all of tonight’s Cllr Awards winners. We thank you for your service and look forward to hearing about your continued accomplishments in the future.”

Kelly Watson, relationship manager for local government at CCLA, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity to recognise and honour those leading across local government.

“Local government has delivered in so many ways for communities across the country and we are honoured to stand alongside them.

“The hard work done by councillors and council leaders behind the scenes hardly ever reaches the public eye. This is an opportunity for us to set aside a small amount of time to celebrate those achievements.”

Cllr Mac Cafferty was nominated for Leader of the Year. This award went to Cllr Georgia Gould of Camden Council.

Cllr Fishleigh, the city’s only elected independent councillor, was nominated for the Community Champion award. This was presented to Cllr Kevin Etheridge of Caerphilly County Borough Council.