BROADCASTER Piers Morgan has been included in a list of the latest journalists and politicians to be banned from Russia.

The Russian foreign ministry issued a list of 39 newly-sanctioned individuals it said are no longer allowed to enter the country.

It said the action was in response to sanctions imposed by the UK against Russian ministers, officials and members of the influential families linked to the Kremlin following the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Former Prime Minister David Cameron, Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer, BBC presenter Huw Edwards and ITV presenter Robert Peston were among those to join Piers Morgan on the sanction list.

Piers, who grew up in Newick, said that Russia “wasn’t on my immediate vacation to-do list”.

Russia claimed those individuals on the sanction list have contributed to “London’s hostile course aimed at the demonisation of our country and its international isolation”.

In a statement, the Russian foreign ministry said: “As has been noted more than once, the pernicious acts of the UK in planting Russophobia, spreading false information about our country and supporting the Kyiv neo-Nazi regime will receive an adequate and decisive response from the Russian side.

“The choice in favour of confrontation is a conscious decision of the British political establishment, which bears all responsibility for the consequences”.

The statement also said it will continue work to expand the list.

Earlier this year, Russia sanctioned 287 MPs, including 12 from Sussex, in retaliation for sanctions against Russian politicians.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said in April that MPs should regard their inclusion on the list as a “badge of honour”.