Dozens of schools across the county are closed entirely or partially shut due to two consecutive days of strike action from today (March 15).

Members of the National Education Union are walking out over pay.

Below is the full list of Sussex schools affected on the first day of industrial action.

East Sussex

The following schools are closed unless otherwise stated.

  • ARK Little Ridge Primary Academy, St Leonards (Open to vulnerable pupils only)
  • Beacon Academy, Crowborough (Open to Year 11 and sixth form only)
  • Bourne Primary School, Eastbourne
  • Cuckmere House School, Seaford (closed to all in Year 9 and a small number of students in the primary department)
  • Glenleigh Park Academy, Bexhill-on-sea
  • Grove Park School, Crowborough (Secondary & Green Lane Phases closed. Primary phase open)
  • Hankham Primary School
  • Holy Cross Church of England Primary School, Uckfield
  • New Horizons School, St Leonards (Open for small number of pupils who have been informed)
  • Newick Church of England Primary School (Open for vulnerable children and children of single parent or keyworker)
  • Pevensey and Westham Church of England Primary School (Chocolate Factory and Kensuke's Kingdom classes in Year 6 and 100 Aker Wood class in Year 3 will be open for pupils)
  • Polegate School (Limited classrooms open. Refer to parent mail for further information)
  • Robertsbridge Community College (Open for Years 10 and 11. Students in Years 7 to 9 with an EHCP can attend school)
  • Southover Church of England Primary School, Lewes
  • St Mary's Catholic Primary School, Crowborough (Open for Year 2 (Yellow class), Year 3 (Green class) and Year 5 (Indigo class)
  • St Pancras Catholic Primary School, Lewes
  • St Thomas A Becket Catholic Primary School, Eastbourne
  • Stafford Junior School, Eastbourne
  • Stone Cross School (Open apart from Foundation Wrens, Year 4 Flamingos, Year 5 Ospreys)
  • The Eastbourne Academy (Open for Year 11)
  • Uplands Academy, Wadhurst
  • West Rise Community Infant School, Eastbourne

West Sussex

The following schools are closed unless otherwise stated. Further information for partially closed schools can be found on their websites.

  • Birdham C of E, Chichester
  • Boxgrove C of E, Chichester
  • Chichester Free School, Chichester (Partially)
  • Davison C of E High School for Girls, Worthing (Partially)
  • Downlands Community School, Hassocks
  • Durrington Infant School, Worthing
  • Durrington First School, Worthing
  • Hassocks Infant School, Hassocks (Partially)
  • Heene C of E Primary School, Worthing
  • Holy Trinity C of E Secondary School, Crawley (Partially)
  • Lyndhurst Infant School, Worthing (Partially)
  • Nyewood C of E Infant School, Bognor (Partially)
  • Parklands Community Primary School, Chichester (Partially)
  • Shoreham Beach Primary School, Shoreham (Partially)
  • St Andrew’s C of E High School, Worthing (Partially)
  • St Mark’s C of E Primary School, Haywards Heath
  • St Philip’s Catholic Primary School, Arundel (Partially)
  • St Wilfrid’s Catholic Primary School, Burgess Hill (Partially)
  • St Wilfrid’s Catholic School, Crawley (Partially)
  • Swiss Gardens Primary School, Shoreham (Partially)
  • Tanbridge House School, Horsham (Partially)
  • The Academy Selsey, Chichester (Partially)
  • The Gattons Infant School, Burgess Hill (Partially)
  • Three Bridges Primary School, Crawley (Partially)
  • Upper Beeding Primary School, Steyning (Partially)
  • West Green Primary School, Crawley (Partially)
  • Woodgate Primary School, Pease Pottage (Partially)

Brighton and Hove City Council says anyone requiring information on closures in its boundaries should visit the school's website.

In a statement on its website, the city council says: "Decisions about school closures in the event of strike action are made by the headteachers and governors of individual schools, not the council.

"The council strongly encourages all schools to stay open in the event of a strike if at all possible, and headteachers always seek to keep their schools open if they can."