Peter Baker's sideboard is groaning under the weight of all the silverware he has won this year.

The Lewes Wanderers rider almost made a clean sweep of the club championships.

He won their 30-mile, 50-mile and 100-mile championships, the 12-hour championship and the best all-rounder championship.

The only major time trial title that eluded him was the 25-mile Championship, which went to Paul Hunt, although he won the Seymour Cup for clocking the fastest 25-mile time of the year (57min.52sec).

Mark Winton was another member to make a good impression. He won the Wanderers series of 10-mile events and was the club's track champion.

Winton also rode well in local road races and circuit races at Hove Park and finished 39th overall in the Surrey five-day race against top-class opposition.

Mark Burgess won the Sussex junior track league title and finished second in the Sussex Pursuit Championship against senior opposition. He placed second in the British Schools National Mountainbike Championship and was the top junior in the Hove Park races.

Other Lewes club members who rode well included veterans Peter Price, Steve Burgess, and Horry Hemsley, while Anja Rees-Jones placed 24th in a women's World Downhill Mountainbike race in France.

Club official Mike Rabbetts believes Darren Riding, who beat the hour for a 25-mile event this year, should be a good prospect for success next year, along with Andy Cox, Hugh Procter and Tony Gale.

Club secretary Sandra Hill (01444 244283) will be pleased to supply membership details.

It is crunch time for cyclo-cross riders on Sunday when they contest the Sussex Championship in Brighton's Wild Park.

The open event at 12.15pm will incorporate the County Championship.

Brighton mountain biker Jonathan Sharpe (Cycleweb) has made no secret of the fact that he wants the title. All entries will be taken on the day so there could be some unexpected challengers.