Brighton Jazz Club presents a new band from one of the original young lions, Clark Tracey.

As well as being a gifted drummer, he has blossomed as a strong composer, arranger and bandleader.

His first quintet in the mid-Eighties introduced performers such as Guy Barker, Gerard Presencer and Steve Melling.

His new collection attempts a similar feat with some fresh talent.

Of the new players, pianist Zoe Rahman is best-known, having won the Perrier Young Jazz Musician of the Year contest in 1999.

In the front line are Mark Armstrong, trumpet and saxophonist Simon Allen, a powerful young soloist who was tutored by Peter King. The line-up is completed by Peter Billington on double bass.

Chichester Jazz Club has supreme mainstream clarinet from Goodmanesque Dave Shepherd and his quintet.

In rootsier territory, The Greys has two more renowned US visitors, with Renaissance man Sid "Coal Porter" Griffin on Sunday.

Monday's attraction is of a rarer vintage: Tom Pacheco is a thoroughbred performer who shared a few bills with Jimi Hendrix and recorded some classic albums in the Seventies.

More recently, he has collaborated with former Dylan cohorts The Band.

On Tuesday, Worthing's Hare And Hounds session welcomes Australian vocalist Trudy Kerr, a singer with a major international reputation - her last CD featured top US pianist Mulgrew Miller.

Brighton's Harlequin jazz night on Wednesday now has special guest soloist Andy Williams on guitar with Terry Seabrook, Paul Whitten and Spike Wells.

Meanwhile, Concorde 2 has a return visit from the explosive jazz organist Brian "This Wheel's On Fire" Auger and his Oblivion Express.

A busy Thursday sees the Blue Note sessions at the Prince Albert, with the Mark Edwards Trio and guests, while The Pavilion Theatre has a reprise of last year's knockout performance by Mike Stern, former guitarist with Miles Davis.

The relative rarity of trombone-based gigs is reversed at a stroke with Bill's Bones back at Lewes Jazz Club.

Led by Bill Guy, the expanded six-piece front line includes Paul Nieman, Tim Wade, Doug Logan, Jasper Franklin and Alan Seymour, plus the rhythm section Paul Busby, Paul Whitten and John Wood.