Doctor Who will return for its 13th series on Sunday night on BBC One, and sets to be changing up the landscape of the programme.

Called Doctor Who: Flux, the show will divert from its usual episodic storylines to have one continuing story over its six episodes.

A recent trailer released for the series has teased the return of classic villians such as the Sontarans, the Weeping Angels and the Cybermen.

The first episode is titled The Halloween Apocalypse, with the second known to be called War of the Sontarans.

Jodie Whittaker will be appearing in her final series as the Doctor, along with three specials in 2022, and discussed the change-up to the storytelling approach.

She said: “It just feels like when you can do a story over hours rather than minutes, there’s a breath in it. It gives you every option, especially for the Doctor.”

Mandip Gill will be returning as Yaz, whilst John Bishop will be a newcomer as Dan. Both will be accompanying the Doctor in the TARDIS on this adventure.

This will also mark the final series with Chris Chibnall as showrunner, with Russell T Davies set to return.

How to watch Doctor Who: Flux?

The first episode of the series will air on Sunday October 31 at 6.25pm on BBC One.

It will last for 50 minutes and the other episodes will air at the same time in the corresponding weeks.

Who is in the cast for Doctor Who: Flux?

  • Jodie Whittaker as The Doctor
  • Mandip Gill as Yasmin Khan
  • John Bishop as Dan Bradley
  • Jacob Anderson as Vinder

Guest actors include the likes of Kevin McNally, Blake Harrison, Robert Bathurst, Thaddea Graham, Steve Oram, Annabel Scholey, Sara Powell and Sue Jenkins.