A NUMBER of Brighton and Hove's older buildings have been brought back to life over the years through renovation projects, including Sillwood Hotel.

Above, the roof fittings in part of Sillwood Hotel can be seen during a renovation project in the 1990s.

Sillwood House, as it was formerly known, is a mansion built in 1827-8 by AH Wilds for Sir David Scott who had purchased the site of the proposed Athenaeum and Oriental Garden.

He reportedly named the house after his family's estate at Sillwood Park, Berkshire.

The three-storey building has ironwork balconies on the first and second floors, and a semi-circular portico on the western side facing Montpelier Road.

The building was later converted into the Sillwood Hotel.

It has belonged to the adjacent store in Western Road, now Debenhams since 196.

As a listed building, the old building was derelict for many years before becoming a hotel.

Brighton Museum has a model of Sillwood Place and the surrounding area.

Jacqueline du Pre Court retirement housing scheme in Brighton offers 35 one bedroom purpose-built properties for rent for people over the age of 55.

The building is situated close to Brighton and has transport links to the city centre, with direct bus routes to Eastbourne, Worthing and Bognor Regis.

The retirement home runs a lot of social activities for its residents, including race nights, bingo, quiz nights, fish and chip suppers, fund raising events and seasonal parties.

The home is supported by Anchor, a charity with almost 50 years of experience helping to provide vital services to older people.

At its opening in 1991, many guests were present, such as Anchor's managing director at the time Martin Burke, ex-mayor of Brighton Joseph Townsend and Jacqueline du Pre's sister Hillary and brother Piers, who can all be seen above.

If you have any information about either C and D Autos or Adames Garden Centre, then please get in touch to keep us up to date.