Albion lost 4-2 on penalties to Birmingham in the Quarter-finals of the FA Cup.

Sarah Mayling and a Mollie Green penalty had put the visitors ahead twice, but Dani Bowman and substitute Denise O'Sulivan levelled the game for Albion.

With neither side seperated after extra time the game went to penalties.

Both Kayleigh Green and Megan Connolly missed for Albion as Birmingham scored four out of five of their spot kicks to progress.

The Seagulls had a good chance in the first minute, after a good run down the left from Fliss Gibbons and her cross was put over the bar by Emily Simpkins.

Birmingham took the lead inside the fifth minute, after Christie Murray’s cross from the left was slotted home by Mayling at the back post.

Albion nearly replied instantly after Victoria Williams header was nearly spilled over the line by Birmingham keeper Hannah Hampton, but she just kept it out.

The Seagulls did not help themselves early on with Williams miscuing her clearance for a corner. From the corner Mayling’s delivery was headed wide by Harriet Scott.

Aileen Whelan robs the ball off Rebecca Holloway and puts in a cross which is well cut out before Simpkins can get there.

The visitors then had a shout for a penalty after a cross from the right picked out Green in the box and her effort was blocked by Danique Kerkdijk, but despite the shout for handball from Birmingham, referee Rebecca Welch waved away the appeals.

Albion were awarded a penalty in the 25th minute, as a ball came into the box and Gibbons got the wrong side of Scott, who had no choice but to bring down the full-back.

Bowman stepped up and calmly slotted her penalty into the middle of the goal.

Birmingham went close again, after good play from Mayling on the right touchline saw her beat Rebekah Stott and her cross was headed just wide of the post by Murray.

The visitors went close again after Mayling was fouled by Williams. From the resulting free kick, Holloway delivery is headed just past her own post by Stott for a corner.

Albion had a golden chance with the last kick of the first half, after Lee picked out the unmarked Simpkins, however the midfielder rushed her header and put it wide.

Birmingham were then awarded a penalty in the 47th minute, after Kerkdijk pulled down Murray in the box.

Green stepped up and put it in the bottom corner, much to the annoyance of Albion keeper Cecilie Fiskerstrand, who went the right way.

Gibbons then provided another chance, after her cross from the left is just too quick for Green at the far post.

Green then had a golden chance for Albion, after she headed Kaagman’s cross over the bar.

Kaagman went close after finding space in the box but her effort went just wide of the post.

Whelan went close again, but her effort from a tight angle was comfortable for Hampton.

Powell’s side finally equalised in the 89th minute as Gibbons cross was met by O'Sulivan who headed into the net.

It finished 2-2 after 90 minutes and so the game went to extra time.

Hampton pulled off a great save to deny Albion the lead, after she tipped substitute Rianna Jarrett's half-volley onto the bar.

Albion were denied again as Kaagman's delivery from a corner was met by Connolly, whose effort was well saved by the feet of Hampton.

Birmingham then went close as Green found Napier and her curling effort went just wide of the post.

Green had a chance in the 116th minute, after she was played in Kaagman but her effort was comfortable for Hampton.

Neither side could be separated in extra time and the game went to penalties.

Green missed Albion's first penalty putting her effort into the stand.

With the score at 3-2 Connolly then had her effort saved by Hampton. 

Georgia Broughman stepped up and scored the winning penalty.

Albion- Fiskerstrand, Le Tissier, Kerkdijk, Stott, Williams (Jarrett, 79), Gibbons, Whelan, Simpkins (Kaagman,64), Heroum (Connolly,64), Bowman (C) (O’Sulivan, 45), Guen-Min Lee (Green,45). Subs not used- Walsh, Barton, Longhurst, Nokuthula.

Birmingham- Hampton, Mayling, Scott, Corsie, Green, Murray (C), Grant (Napier, 67), Brougham, Walker, Whipp, Holloway. Subs not used- McCarron, Kelly, Scofield, Toussaint, Lawley.