Stuart Hawkes timed his run to perfection to become the first British winner of the Brighton Marathon.

Hawkes overtook Brighton's Jon Pepper in the closing five miles to triumph in 2hr.27min.36sec.

Ollie Garrod came through to claim second place in 2hr.31min.32sec with a tiring Pepper rallying in the final straight to take third in 2hr.31min.56sec. 

Helen Davies took the women's title in 2hr.42min.40sec ahead of Hayley Munn who clocked 2h.46min.00sec. Hellen Buller was third in 2hr.51min.22sec.