Simon Colbran has called for patience as he rebuilds Worthing.

Former Eastbourne Borough coach Colbran replaced the joint management team of Alan Pook and Danny Bloor in the summer and is working with a significantly reduced budget which has led to the departure of a number of key players.

Reaching the play-offs for a third successive year looks a tall order but Colbran is ultra-ambitious and has made some astute signings.

He said: “When I got the job they gave me two or three years to take the club forward and get them playing the way I want to play. I will push for the play-offs but if we get in the top half we will have done really well.

“I am really pleased with the squad. The players who have come in are all young and can move the club forward.”

Colbran is considering signing two trialists, former Lewes striker Medi Koroma and Basingstoke defender Jason Minton.

INS: Wayne Clarke (Crowborough), Dean Chamberlain (Arundel), Gavin Gordon (Merstham), Ben Johnson (Burgess Hill), Luke Denton (Eastbourne Town), Simon McMenemy (Haywards Heath), Mark Zydonik (Three Bridges), Brett Patton (Eastbourne Borough), Brendan Sebuliba, Ben Williamson, Tony Di-Bernardo, Terry Garcias.

OUTS: Scott Kirkwood (Lewes), Ben Andrews (Horsham), Mickey Demetriou (Bognor), Chris O’Flaherty (Croydon Athletic), Jamie Howell (Bognor), Matt Simpson (Horsham YMCA), Andy Alexander, Lee Farrell, Will Jenkins, Jorge Lopes.

Burgess Hill manager Gary Croydon has set his sights on the final play-off spot for the coming campaign.

Croydon, whose Hillians begin with a home game at Leylands Park against Whitstable on Sunday, said: “The credit crunch has bitten us all and everyone will be operating on smaller budgets.

“We have brought in Will Berry, Joe Adams, Danny Curd and Max Barnard so we’ve dipped into the County League to strengthen our squad.

“Realistically, we are not championship-winning material and the budget does not buy me that but it does get us a squad which should be aiming to finish in the top half and push on for the final play-off place.”

INS: Max Barnard (Eastbourne Borough), Tom Edmonds (German football), Danny Curd, Lloyd Skinner (both Mile Oak), Joe Adams (Ringmer).

OUTS: Wes Tate (Whitehawk), Nick Fogden (Shoreham), Callum Christie (Scholarship in USA), Justin Gregory (Croydon Athletic).

Eastbourne Town kick-off at Walton Casuals with boss Ady Colwell hoping his new signings will add an extra edge to the squad.

Colwell said: “We have a younger element and I feel they will give us another dimension.

“They give us a little bit more energy and with them onboard we may be able to go on and eclipse our 13th place finish of last season.

“I am not one for wild predictions and we are simply looking for year on year improvement.”

INS: Terry Payne, Jack Dixon (both Hastings United), Ashley Jarvis (Hailsham), Chris Lamore (Eastbourne Borough), Sam Schaaf (Lewes), Ross Markham, Matty Sellick, Mark Goodwin, OUTS: James Norwood (Exeter), Luke Denton (Worthing), Dan Williams (emigrated), Peter Cooper (travelling), Greg Manton (Eastbourne United), Ethan Strevitt.

Horsham YMCA boss Chris White believes his side can upset the odds following promotion from the County League.

YM are favourites to go straight back down but White has drawn confidence from an impressive set of pre-season results against the likes of Horsham, Bognor and Tooting and Mitcham plus the addition of several players with experience at a higher level.

He said: “I have been looking at the internet forums over the summer and every one of them has got us down for relegation so I think we might surprise a few people.

“Survival has got to be the main aim in our first year back at this level but I have never started a season without the intention of being successful and I think we have got the squad to achieve that.”

INS: John Westcott (Tonbridge Angels), Nigel Brake (Horsham), Steve Sargeant (Met Police), Matt Simpson (Worthing), Mike Huckett (Arundel), Simon Lockwood (Horley), Luke Gedling, Mark Pulling (both Burgess Hill), Anthony Hibbert (Hassocks).

OUTS: Matt Geard (Whitehawk), Clay Lamont (Mile Oak), Ryan Bradley (Shoreham), Ricky Timms.