TODAY we look back at archived photographs of the jewel in Brighton’s crown – the seafront.

The King’s Road Arches can be seen left pictured in 1985.

The road was unsurprisingly named after King George IV, who ordered the construction of the Royal Pavilion.

He provided £210 towards the cost of building part of the road, which was originally a fairly uneven track across the cliff.

It was constructed in stages and opened in 1822.

The part George IV helped pay for only ran from West Street to Middle Street.

A number of the buildings along the road remain mostly unchanged since the mid 19th century.

Before the arches were built, there was only a rough track between Little East Street and West Street.

Traffic had to turn inland in order to proceed along the coast.

King’s Road was much narrower until 1886, when it was widened.

The road, which was finally surfaced with tarmac in 1910, extended over existing arches on the Lower Esplanade. The arches ran under the street and were big enough to house large fishing boats.

An old tourist information kiosk is shown on the seafront in 1991 before becoming a snack bar.

Another historic and iconic feature on the seafront is the bandstand, dating back to 1884.

It was restored to its original specification and reopened in 2009.

The Fats Baxter jazz band can be seen above, pictured when they performed in August 1988.

Workers can be seen installing a long telephone cable to the right of the Brighton Palace Pier in 1989.

This was the start of a UK-France line that stretches 96 miles (155km) from Brighton to Dieppe.

The first cables were used to send telegraphy traffic.

Since then the cables have been used to send telephone traffic, and most recently data traffic.

If you have any updates for us, get in touch.